United States Green Card Lottery information

The United States Green Card lottery, officially known as the State Department Diversity Program, has been run annually for the past several years by the United States Department of State. It is not run by the United States Immigration and Naturalization Service.

The purpose of this program is to diversify America by awarding a limited number of green cards to persons born in countries which are under-represented in the United States. Every year, 50,000 new green cards are awarded under this program. A person's eligibility is based on the country of birth. Persons born in every country of the world, with the exception of 16 countries, are eligible to enter. Those 16 countries are Mexico, Philippines, India, El Salvador, Canada, China (mainland and Taiwan, except Hong Kong), Colombia, Dominican Republic, El Salvador, Haiti, India, Jamaica, Poland, South Korea, United Kingdom (except Northern Ireland) and its dependent territories, and Vietnam.

Persons born in those 16 countries are excluded from the program because there are already too many of them in the United States.

In addition to the limit of a total of 50,000 green cards awarded annually, no one country can receive more than about 5,000 green cards. For the past several years, the Asian country which received the most green cards under the program has been Bangladesh, where virtually the entire country enters the Lottery.

The U.S. Diversity Immigration Program makes available 50,000 permanent residence visas each year to persons meeting the eligibility requirements. Applicants for diversity visas are initially chosen through a random computer generated lottery drawing. Visas are apportioned among six geographic regions with a greater number of visas going to regions with lower rates of immigration, and no visas going to countries sending more than 50,000 immigrants to the U.S. in the past five years.

The lottery is only open for a limited period of time each year, usually one month during the month of October. Applications and entries received either one minute before the opening date or one minute after the closing date are ineligible. Right now, the lottery is closed. The latest lottery closed on October 31, 1998. Winners will be notified later this year. The lottery may reopen in June, 1999.

Only one entry per person is allowed. Persons who try to enter more than once are automatically disqualified.

I intend to try to help a limited number of carefully selected applicants, mostly beautiful young girls, enter the lottery, when it becomes open later this year. There are also a number of commercial companies which help people enter the lottery, for a substantial fee. The State Department does not charge a fee and there are no required forms. Applicants are advised to write the DV-2000 Program, National Visa Center, Portsmouth, NH 00210, USA., directly.

If you want me to try to help you you must send me a photo, preferably passport size, plus your name, date and place of birth and other pertinent information. You generally must be a high school graduate to receive a US visa under the lottery. I cannot help everybody. Please remember that this is a lottery. Millions of entries are received each year. Therefore, your chance of becoming one of the 50,000 winners is small.

My address is:

Sam Sloan
One Campus Place
Brooklyn NY 11208

There may be a fee, but the State Department does not charge any fee. Do not send any money now.

Here is a list of countries which received green cards under this program last year:

Ghana 5531
Nigeria 5443
Ukraine 5047
Bangladesh 5031
Albania 4482
Russia 4415
Bulgaria 4181
Romania 3693
Egypt 3558
Pakistan 3470
Ethiopia 3092
Germany 2972
Morocco 2606
Sudan 2574
Turkey 1450
Algeria 1378
Kenya 1328
Liberia 1618
Cameroon 1164
Lithuania 1139
Armenia 1068
Sierra Leone 1008
Cuba 985
Somalia 728
Belarus 725
Fiji 724
Uzbekistan 663
Ireland 652
Peru 616
France 602
Italy 540
Togo 527
Kazakhstan 511
Serbia 510
Switzerland 480
Senegal 479
Iran 462
Slovakia 458
Japan 448
South Africa 446
Azerbaijan 414
Ivory Coast 394
Brazil 393
Australia 389
Georgia 381
Burma 373
Tanzania 357
Ecuador 345
Moldavia 334
Sri Lanka 322
Guinea 311
Congo Republic 301
Sweden 298
Macedonia 274
Yugoslav Republic 274
Trinidad And Tobago 270
Hong Kong Special Admin. Region 267
Indonesia 241
Argentina 229
Nepal 226
Guatemala 223
Hungary 219
Uganda 215
New Zealand 213
Czech Republic 208
Gambia 205
Venezuela 196
Latvia 193
Netherlands 188
Portugal 177
Mali 174
Kyrgyzstan 161
Croatia 152
Austria 151
Afghanistan 145
Finland 133
Spain 133
Yemen 133
Northern Ireland 164
Guyana 119
Belgium 114
Israel 114
Jordan 114
Tunisia 116
Estonia 108
Tajikistan 97
Tonga 96
Greece 92
Costa Rica 89
Bosnia And Herzegovina 88
Zimbabwe 87
Denmark 85
Thailand 84
Malawi 81
Honduras 79
Iraq 79
Rwanda 75
Zambia 70
Chile 69
Malaysia 69
Norway 63
Cambodia 62
Nicaragua 62
Benin Eritrea 60
Syria 60
Congo 48
Lebanon 48
Bolivia 46
Burkina Faso 41
Panama 41
Libya 40
Cyprus 38
Mauritania 38
Grenada 37
Turkmenistan 34
Mauritius 33
Burundi 32
Iceland 28
Uruguay 28
Chad 24
Suriname 22
Madagascar 21
Niger 21
Singapore 19
Kuwait 18
Slovenia 18
Cape Verde 17
Barbados 16
Dominica 16
Angola 15
Paraguay 15
Western Samoa 15
Bahamas 14
Gabon 16
Lichtenstein 11
Saudi Arabia 11
Malta 9
Saint Vincent 9
The Grenadines 9
Mongolia 8
Swaziland 8
Belize 7
Luxembourg 7
Saint Lucia 7
Central African Republic 5
Equatorial Guinea 5
Laos 5
Mozambique 5
Namibia 5
Papua New Guinea 5
Djibouti 4
Maldives 4
North Korea 3
Saint Kitts And Nevis 3
Antigua & Barbuda 2
Marshall Islands 2
Seychelles 2
Bahrain 1
Botswana 1
Comoros 1
Guinea-Bissau 1
Oman 1
United Arab Emirates 1
Andorra 0
Bhutan 0
Brunei 0
Kiribati 0
Lesotho 0
Micronesia 0
Monaco 0
Montenegro 0
Nauru 0
Palau 0
Qatar 0
San Marino 0
Sao Tome And Principe 0
Solomon Islands 0
Tuvalu 0
Vanuatu 0
Vatican City 0

Here are links:
My Home Page

Contact address - please send e-mail to the following address: Sloan@ishipress.com